Week 19 at Plas y Brenin

30Oct11

26th Sept – 2nd Oct

Highlights: OMM Mini Marathon, Level 1 Certificate in Coaching Paddlesport completed!

Summary: A welcome dash of glorious weather arrived in North Wales this week. Timely for a 5-day paddling course, and some Original Mountain Marathon (OMM) Training Camp goodness

Autumn has arrived at Plas y Brenin

Autumn has arrived at Plas y Brenin

Monday-Friday

A 5-day course to fill much of this week – UKCC Level 1 Certificate in Coaching Paddlesport. A small group of 4 of us made for a delightful week exploring all aspects of the paddle sport syllabus; Foundation Safety & Rescue Training, and all the coaching aspects expected in a UKCC course. I particularly enjoyed testing out the sea kayaks (although I do seem to have a knack of breaking the footrests) on the lake for forward paddling technique coaching.

For the teaching assessments, of which I rather more enjoyed the canoeing (vs the kayaking) I introduced the group to the ‘C’ stroke as a extension to a gentle introduction of the ‘J’ stroke family.

Woot! Level 1 acquired. Thanks Sid & Chris (Brenin instructors).

Sunset over the Llynnau Mymbyr

Sunset over the Llynnau Mymbyr

Throughout the week I also managed to grab a free evening for a run up Siabod to witness perfect evening skies as the sun slid down behind the Snowdon group. Apart from this departure from wettish sport, I also spent some time planning ahead for the weekend’s Original Mountain Marathon Training Camp to be hosted on Saturday & Sunday…

Saturday-Sunday

Saturday morning came round quickly. Prepared as possible for an afternoon’s 2.5 hour ‘Navigation Workshop’, I helped run out the control kites with Adam & Sally for the mini marathon event the following day. Success, they’re all placed correctly! (I hope)

That evening, I knew I’d be working on the bar – thus Pete had added an ‘Ask the Barman’ feature to the event’s evening programme. This was unsettling to poor Glyn who was working the bar with me, trying his hardest to avoid being asked anything about running (he climbs mainly!)

Sunday was a repeat 2.5 hour nav workshop followed by the mini marathon! At 3pm I set out to collect the top and eastern section controls… the weather turned on me as I was running round, and it took over 2 hours to battle through the pea-soup conditions to collect all the kites. Running wet, I managed to keep warm and get them all in before dark!

Challenging weekend, hard work, good fun!

A usual tesco run nowadays

A usual tesco run nowadays

One Response to “Week 19 at Plas y Brenin”

  1. Maybe thats were my fitness levels are going wrong…wine n loads of choccy from now on for me…


Leave a Reply

