Fcnay a cahgne ayonne?

09Feb06

For a cnahge, I tugohht it wulod be itieentnrsg to try out smarclebd ptsos to mkae you ralley cecnnottrae on waht youre rdniaeg. Slregatny eungoh, it smees taht it is in fcat eaeisr tahn one wluod epexct, and paeprhs I colud fnid smoe ahlitgorm to cevnort the wlohe bolg itno sgmacbrnis (as opopesd to rmabgilns of cursoe).

Atprlpaeny, aincordcg to a reaechersr at Cdiagbrme Uieitnsrvy, it deos not mteatr in waht oredr the letetrs in a wrod are; the olny imarntpot tnihg is taht the fsrit and lsat lteter be in the rihgt pcale. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it wtouhit a poberlm. Tihs is bcsaeue the hmuan mnid deos not raed eevry lteetr by itslef, but rdeas the wdros as a whloe. Anizmag, and I awyals toghhut spneillg was itnamropt.

It rnemids me of Pig Ltian seahwmot.


[Translation]

For a change, I thought it would be interesting to try out scrambled posts to make you really concentrate on what you’re reading. Strangely enough, it seems that it is in fact easier than one would expect, and perhaps I could find some algorithm to convert the whole blog into scrambings (as opposed to ramblings of course).

Apparently, according to a researcher at Cambridge University, it does not matter in what order the letters in a word are; the only important thing is that the first and last letter be in the right place. The rest can be a total mess and you can still read it without a problem. This is because the human mind does not read every letter by itself, but reads the words as a whole. Amazing, and I always thought spelling was important.

It reminds me of Pig Latin somewhat.

2 Responses to “Fcnay a cahgne ayonne?”

  1. 1 Peter

    Interesting… I didn’t realise that the letters were jumbled until I had read half the text!

  2. 2 rumslant

    I had no problems reading this; guess I am used to it after having read so many pupils’ homework.


Leave a Reply

