UMWC Moel Hebog

23Oct05

You’ll be pleased to hear that this Saturday I got up in time for the 09:15 start of this week’s walk, which was to take us to Beddgelert from where we’d do a ridge walk over all three “Moels” (Moel Hebog, -yr Ogof, and -Lefn) and ending up in Rhyl. This was a fairly challenging walk with plenty of ups and downs, scrambling, and avoidance of bogs all part of the days events.

The weather stayed dry and as the day went on the cloud lifted and we managed to catch some rays towards the end of the day (thus the photos get progressively better). Although very enjoyable quality mountain day (and ending up by a pub), nothing particularly special happened throughout the day, except my feet were soaked as both my soles on my 5-year-old Salomons are peeling off!

View the photos from today’s walk here

On Saturday evening I was treated to a special dinner by my parents (to celebrate their wedding anniversary) who had come over to Anglesey for a weekend break (they just wanted to spy on me really)! They came in execptionally useful not only to feed me thoroughly for a weekend but also to take me shopping in Betws-y-Coed on Sunday, the final day of 20% off at Ultimate Outdoors. I am now the proud owner of some nice new hiking and climbing shoes. I now don’t have any excuse not to go climbing on Wednesday and Friday evenings! A gigantic 3-course Sunday Lunch rounded off the weekend nicely.

Weather looks consistent this week *sigh*

Sailing photos soon… promise… just they’re taking slightly longer to order/edit than I thought.

One Response to “UMWC Moel Hebog”

  1. 1 Dieter

    Nice to see that one is appreciated from time to time, albeit for dubious reasons. Enjoyed the weekend with you; nice to see that you seem to have settled in well. Happy walking & climbing.


Leave a Reply

